Blog Tour: I completely adore the Float Plan by Trish Doller | Review!

Title – Float Plan

Author – Trish Doller

Publication – March 2nd, 2021

Publisher – St Martin’s Griffin

Genres – Contemporary, Romance & Adult Fiction

Heartbroken by the loss of her fiancé, adventurous Anna finds a second chance at love with an Irish sailor in this riveting, emotional romance. After a reminder goes off for the Caribbean sailing trip Anna was supposed to take with her fiancé, she impulsively goes to sea in the sailboat he left her, intending to complete the voyage alone.

But after a treacherous night’s sail, she realizes she can’t do it by herself and hires Keane, a professional sailor, to help. Much like Anna, Keane is struggling with a very different future than the one he had planned. As romance rises with the tide, they discover that it’s never too late to chart a new course.

In Trish Doller’s unforgettable Float Plan, starting over doesn’t mean letting go of your past, it means making room for your future.

Read More »

Blog Tour: Like Home by Louisa Onome

54110109

Title – Like Home

Author – Louisa Onome

Publisher – Harper Collins

Publication Date – 23rd, February 2010

Genres – Contemporary & Young Adult Fiction

Fans of Netflix’s On My Block, In the Heights, and readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Ibi Zoboi will love this debut novel about a girl whose life is turned upside down after one local act of vandalism throws her relationships and even her neighbourhood into turmoil.

Chinelo or Nelo as her best friend Kate calls her, is all about her neighbourhood Ginger East. She loves its chill vibe, ride-or-die sense of community, and her memories of growing up there. Ginger East isn’t what it used to be, though. After a deadly incident at the local arcade, all her closest friends moved away, except for Kate. But as long as they have each other, Nelo’s good.

Only, Kate’s parents’ corner store is vandalized, leaving Nelo shaken to her core. The police and the media are quick to point fingers, and soon more of the outside world descends on Ginger East with promises to “fix” it. Suddenly, Nelo finds herself in the middle of a drama unfolding on a national scale.

Worse yet, Kate is acting strange. She’s pushing Nelo away at the exact moment they need each other most. Nelo’s entire world is morphing into something she hates, and she must figure out how to get things back on track or risk losing everything⁠—and everyone⁠—she loves.

Read More »

In ‘The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna’ girls rise as demons and destroy patriarchy!

40024121. sy475

Title – The Gilded Ones

Author – Namina Forna

Publisher – Usborne Publishing

Published – February 9th, 2021.

Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in fear and anticipation of the blood ceremony that will determine whether she will become a member of her village. Already different from everyone else because of her unnatural intuition, Deka prays for red blood so she can finally feel like she belongs.

But on the day of the ceremony, her blood runs gold, the color of impurity–and Deka knows she will face a consequence worse than death.

Then a mysterious woman comes to her with a choice: stay in the village and submit to her fate, or leave to fight for the emperor in an army of girls just like her. They are called alaki–near-immortals with rare gifts. And they are the only ones who can stop the empire’s greatest threat.

Knowing the dangers that lie ahead yet yearning for acceptance, Deka decides to leave the only life she’s ever known. But as she journeys to the capital to train for the biggest battle of her life, she will discover that the great walled city holds many surprises. Nothing and no one are quite what they seem to be–not even Deka herself.

Divider 3

Read More »

Book Review: Brimstones & Rainbow by Ololade Akintoye

55921381. sx318

Title – Brimstones & Rainbows: Memoirs of a Child Bride

Author – Ololade Akintoye

Publication – 2020

Publisher – Narrative Landscape Press

Genres – Adult Fiction

In this intriguing realistic fiction, Ruby, an orphaned child bride who suffered from Obstetric Fistula, a debilitating childbirth complication, became stigmatised and ostracised from her community. Having lost everything in the village of Ojiji, Ruby set out to the city of Eko on a path to healing and recovery and a chance to find what lies on the other side of the rainbow

Trigger Warning – Rape, Child Abuse, Child Molestation, Child Marriage, Female Genital Mutilation

Divider 2

Read More »

Reading ‘With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo’ was an unexpected delight!

38739562

Title – With the Fire on High

Author – Elizabeth Acevedo

Publisher – Quill Tree Books

Published – May 7th, 2019.

From the New York Times bestselling author of the National Book Award longlist title The Poet X comes a dazzling novel in prose about a girl with talent, pride, and a drive to feed the soul that keeps her fire burning bright.

Ever since she got pregnant freshman year, Emoni Santiago’s life has been about making the tough decisions—doing what has to be done for her daughter and her abuela. The one place she can let all that go is in the kitchen, where she adds a little something magical to everything she cooks, turning her food into straight-up goodness.

Even though she dreams of working as a chef after she graduates, Emoni knows that it’s not worth her time to pursue the impossible. Yet despite the rules she thinks she has to play by, once Emoni starts cooking, her only choice is to let her talent break free.

Divider 3

Read More »