Hell Road (The Courier #1) by Tom Lash Kilo | A New Nigerian Thriller Novel!

About the Book

Add to Goodreads ↓

Title: Hell Road (The Courier #1)

Author: Tom Lash Kilo

Publisher: Harmony Publishing

Publication Year: 2021

Genre: Thriller & Upmarket Fiction

Blurb

A courier’s commission goes south when he is marked for termination by diabolical forces in this arresting, fast-paced thriller.

Caught between the throes of ghastly machinations, the butchery of betrayal and the blasphemy of love, Seba, the courier, must defy all odds to fulfil his obligation while negotiating survival on a perilous path.

The Glove wants him.
The Agent wants him alive.
The Senator wants him dead.

A sitting duck in a sea of woes, the courier is at the unfailing mercy of fate. Luck, love and life are at stake.
Seba has it all to lose…unless he finds his way out of Hell Road.

Click Here to Buy

About the Author

Tom Lash Kilo, born Nigerian, expends the bulk of his time promenading along the shores of uncommon predilections. The entirety of his essence demands a trinity of expressions; hence an author, musician and creative mastermind. He is a dauntless contrarian to defy the norm, a timeless thinker to flirt with intellect, and a beau idéal to the gloriole of creativity. To this end, or beginning, Tom Lash Kilo makes his long-awaited literary debut with the avant-garde novel, Hell Road—first at birth of a compelling courier trilogy.

TwitterInstagramWebsite

Lara Kareem

Twitter ‧ Instagram ‧ Goodreads ‧ Services

Pet by Akwaeke Emezi, A book that feels like a warm hug.

A book that feels like a warm hug.

A world that just accepts things as is, is the kind of world I wish I lived in. Pet brought this to life. I loved how Pet is a book about monsters because the thing about monsters is they look like me or you. Jam and Redemptions families are so precious, the story within the pages of Pet is a marvellous one, one that covers so many important themes, handled with the right kind of care, one that makes you want to be good and be your neighbour’s keeper.

Read More »

Kololo Hill by Neema Shah is Ugandan Historical Fiction Worthy of Reading.

55281100

Title – Kololo Hill

Author – Neema Shah

Publication – February 18th 2021

Publisher – Picador

Genres – Historical Fiction

Uganda 1972

A devastating decree is issued: all Ugandan Asians must leave the country in ninety days. They must take only what they can carry, give up their money and never return.

For Asha and Pran, married a matter of months, it means abandoning the family business that Pran has worked so hard to save. For his mother, Jaya, it means saying goodbye to the house that has been her home for decades. But violence is escalating in Kampala, and people are disappearing. Will they all make it to safety in Britain and will they be given refuge if they do?

And all the while, a terrible secret about the expulsion hangs over them, threatening to tear the family apart.

From the green hilltops of Kampala, to the terraced houses of London, Neema Shah’s extraordinarily moving debut Kololo Hill explores what it means to leave your home behind, what it takes to start again, and the lengths some will go to protect their loved ones.

Read More »

Blog Tour: I completely adore the Float Plan by Trish Doller | Review!

Title – Float Plan

Author – Trish Doller

Publication – March 2nd, 2021

Publisher – St Martin’s Griffin

Genres – Contemporary, Romance & Adult Fiction

Heartbroken by the loss of her fiancé, adventurous Anna finds a second chance at love with an Irish sailor in this riveting, emotional romance. After a reminder goes off for the Caribbean sailing trip Anna was supposed to take with her fiancé, she impulsively goes to sea in the sailboat he left her, intending to complete the voyage alone.

But after a treacherous night’s sail, she realizes she can’t do it by herself and hires Keane, a professional sailor, to help. Much like Anna, Keane is struggling with a very different future than the one he had planned. As romance rises with the tide, they discover that it’s never too late to chart a new course.

In Trish Doller’s unforgettable Float Plan, starting over doesn’t mean letting go of your past, it means making room for your future.

Read More »

Blog Tour: Like Home by Louisa Onome

54110109

Title – Like Home

Author – Louisa Onome

Publisher – Harper Collins

Publication Date – 23rd, February 2010

Genres – Contemporary & Young Adult Fiction

Fans of Netflix’s On My Block, In the Heights, and readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Ibi Zoboi will love this debut novel about a girl whose life is turned upside down after one local act of vandalism throws her relationships and even her neighbourhood into turmoil.

Chinelo or Nelo as her best friend Kate calls her, is all about her neighbourhood Ginger East. She loves its chill vibe, ride-or-die sense of community, and her memories of growing up there. Ginger East isn’t what it used to be, though. After a deadly incident at the local arcade, all her closest friends moved away, except for Kate. But as long as they have each other, Nelo’s good.

Only, Kate’s parents’ corner store is vandalized, leaving Nelo shaken to her core. The police and the media are quick to point fingers, and soon more of the outside world descends on Ginger East with promises to “fix” it. Suddenly, Nelo finds herself in the middle of a drama unfolding on a national scale.

Worse yet, Kate is acting strange. She’s pushing Nelo away at the exact moment they need each other most. Nelo’s entire world is morphing into something she hates, and she must figure out how to get things back on track or risk losing everything⁠—and everyone⁠—she loves.

Read More »